Eggplant, Tomato, and Feta Bruschetta

**Update 3/13: This is not a g-free recipe. See note at the end**

Because I am not yet ready to share my ratatouille-making experience (read: I am too lazy to type it up right now), I’ll share what I did with my leftover eggplant instead.

Gosh I miss my brother’s fancy schmancy camera.

The bruschetta scene in the film Julie and Julia is yet another of the reasons I started to become obsessed with cooking and with Julia Child. Bruschetta is a fairly common Italian antipasto and usually consists of yummy bread laden with tomato and basil. Bruschetta (which hey, did you know it’s pronounced like brusketta instead of brushetta? I’ve been saying it wrong for years. Thanks, Ina Garten) is far more versatile than tomatoes, and I hope this variation is welcome.

Eggplant, Tomato, and Feta Bruchetta
(Or, the first recipe that I made up entirely on my own! Wahoo!)
Serves 1-2. Heck yes I would eat just this for lunch.

1/3-1/2 of one medium eggplant, cubed into roughly 1/3 inch pieces
2 tbsp olive oil + 1 tbsp olive oil for bread
Salt to taste
Dash of black pepper
1/2 cup grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
1/3 cup feta cheese
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
1 teaspoon lemon juice
2 teaspoons minced garlic + 1-2 tsp for bread
Fresh basil to taste
3-5 slices of baguette or other hearty bread, 1/2-1 inches thick

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Much like we did with Garlic Roasted Summer Squash, toss cubed eggplant with olive oil, salt, and pepper in a mixing bowl. Spread eggplant evenly over a large baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. Roast in oven for 15-20 minutes, until eggplant begins to brown. Check every five minutes to prevent burning.

2. While eggplant roasts, combine halved cherry tomatoes, feta, lemon juice, and white wine vinegar. When eggplant has finished roasting, remove from baking pan and allow to cool slightly.

3. Add eggplant to tomato and feta mixture and season with garlic and basil. Serve on top of thick slices of hearty, toasted bread brushed with olive oil and garlic. I have a bad habit of frying thick slices of bread with olive oil and butter whenever I make bruschetta. It’s not the usual way of making bruschetta bread, and it’s super delicious, but it will probably kill me one day.

Bon appétit, mes amis!

Note to g-free readers: I hesitate to recommend simply switching to g-free bread in this recipe. Most of the g-free bread I’ve had so far tastes just fine, but quickly becomes soggy when it comes into contact with oil or condiments are juices from meat. I’ve gotten into the habit of packing my condiments for sandwiches in separate tupperware and adding them to the sandwich right before I eating – if I didn’t, the bread would be inedible by lunchtime. You probably still can switch out g-free, but be sure to consume tout de suite. Your guests will have to add bruschetta to their bread slices themselves if you decide to serve this as an appetizer at a g-free dinner party. If you have any recommendations for heartier g-free bread, let me know!

One thought on “Eggplant, Tomato, and Feta Bruschetta

  1. Pingback: Ravioli with Spicy Sage Butter | The Kitchen Klutz Goes Gluten-Free

Leave a Reply

