Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies

**Update 3/13: Not a gluten-free recipe**

These are the cookies that bewitch men’s souls.

Well. Okay. Not exactly. Though I’ve certainly tried to use them for that purpose.

What? Oversharing? Me? Never.


While they may not be entirely successful as tools of seduction, they are still damn good cookies. Chocolate pudding added to the batter makes them doubly, dare-I-say-devlishly delicious.


According to the original, this recipe yields ten dozen. I did not count exactly, but I did have to use my two cookies sheets several times each and in fairly rapid succession. Also, these can apparently be frozen for up to 8 months. I can’t have cookies in that close proximity to me for that long without eating them, so I have no idea if that’s true or not.

Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies
(from…somewhere. Possibly Southern Living. I forgot to write down where it came from.)

1 cup butter or margarine, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 (3.9 oz) pkg. chocolate instant pudding mix (NOT the low fat kind. Get the legit stuff, people.)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 (12-ounce) package semisweet chocolate chips

You know, I find it annoying when recipes say “softened butter” so they don’t have to tell me how to go about softening it. Softening butter is tricky, at least for me. Sometimes if I attack it with some wax paper and a rolling pin,  I can get it to behave. Occasionally if I put it in the microwave for the exact right amount of time, it will soften without melting. But most of the time, I just have to leave it sitting out for a little while.

Commence actual recipe:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. I’ve been cooking on my own for a month and I’m still forgetting to do this.

2. Beat butter at a medium speed with an electric mixer. When the butter is sufficiently creamy, gradually add sugars and pudding mix, beating well. Then, add the eggs and vanilla extract and continue to beat well. (That sounds so mean, doesn’t it?)

3. In a separate bowl, mix together flour and baking soda. Gradually add dry mix to the buttery chocolatey-ness. Beat that stuff up until all ingredients are well-combined.

3. Stir in even more chocolate in the form of chocolate chips.  You can also add pecans (1 cup) if you like.

4. Make itty-bitty teaspoonful-sized dollops of batter and place on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake at 375 for 8 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool on cookie sheets for 3 minutes. (Seriously. It’s important, as I’ve lived and learn). Transfer to wire racks to complete cooling.

5. Arrange cookies nicely on a platter, and then use them to seduce people. Or not. Cause honestly, that’s just kind of awkward.

Up Next: Adventures in Quiche-Making Part 2, now featuring even more klutziness than ever before!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies

  1. I WANT ONE I WANT ONE I WANT ONE

    Also… is that first sentence supposed to be like “These are the times that try men’s souls,” from The Crisis?

    • YOU HAD ONE YOU HAD ONE YOU HAD ONE!! At the Very Potter Musical thingy! Though I would like to point out that I was NOT trying to seduce anyone at that gathering. Totally unrelated incidences.

      And yes, you are correct, ma’am.

  2. OHHHH it was so good! Yeah! I think I had like three even though there weren’t that many!
    I WANT ANOTHER ONE I WANT ANOTHER ONE I WANT ANOTHER ONE

    And yay! I win!

Leave a comment